• 410 N Main St. Jamestown, NY 14701
  • 716-483-6405
  • stlukes@stlukesjamestown.org
  • Services: Saturday - 5 pm and Sunday - 8am & 10am
  • History

    St. Luke’s Church stands as a downtown anchor on the corner of 4th and Main Streets since 1834. A visionary community that erected its first building with a seating capacity of 340 despite having only 12 members, St. Luke’s stands tall in the city as a beacon of faith, hope, and compassion through our Christ-centered outreach and civic service. 

    The first building was completed in 1856, but lost to a fire in 1862.  The current structure is the 3rd building that housed St. Luke’s (the second was demolished to make way for the 3rd Church) and was built in 1894. The current church is a substantial structure of rock-faced Medina sandstone that blends Late Gothic Revival and Romanesque Revival elements.

    Designed by Boston architect W.P. Wentworth, the church has a cruciform plan with a square bell tower attached to the northeast corner of the church. The tower features a clock on each face side and rounded corners topped with conical pinnacles. St. Luke’s is enhanced by an intact interior, Lamb stained glass windows, an arcaded façade (with a porch & narthex) and stone tracery in the west facing Rose Window.

    The Parish has raised up national leaders (Justice Robert Jackson & Senator Charles Goodell) and housed national events: Justice Jackson's funeral was the last time all the Supreme Court Justices gathered outside the Court.

    Life at St. Luke's

    From Little Flock to Great Parish

    © 2024 St Lukes's - All rights reserved | Privacy Policy
    Skip to content